Quiet Nights…

and busy days. Skye went to daycare all day on Monday and Wednesday and enjoyed herself a lot. She was such a sleepy little pup when she came home each night it seemed a good week to begin working on her sleeping downstairs as she’s become too heavy to carry down in the mornings and isn’t yet able to get down our steep stairs unaided. She accepted the change without difficulty and now sleeps soundly from 11pm to 5 or 6 am. She has been having at least one or two walks each day, her favourite destination being the local park where she can watch lots of other dogs and be admired by all the passers by. Because she is sleeping well, Nino is getting a better night’s sleep although he still wakes and paces once or twice a night. And because he is sleeping better so am I so a good result all round!

The Ruby went off to Malcolm for a check up, there are a few jobs to do which I knew about already, and a couple which I didn’t, but thankfully nothing major. I’ve got the car back for the weekend but it will go back next week to start the work. I haven’t driven the car much yet so I’m looking forward to a wee trip this weekend.

I employed a couple of gardeners (their term not mine) to come and cut the hedges and lawns today as they had become very overgrown. When they came to price the job I mentioned that I also wanted to have the lilac trees cut back from overhanging the back driveway. This morning I left them working while I took Skye for a walk and on my return found that they had cut one tree off at waist height, slashed a few branches from the second and left the third intact however the amount of overhanging branches on the driveway is almost identical to how it was before. I think Skye could have done a better job just by chewing the branches! They obviously realised they were making a mess and charged me just for the hedges and lawns and went on their way sheepishly. The trees look a complete mess and will need to be sorted out by someone who knows what they are doing but I have to admit the garden does benefit from the extra light that they were blocking out. All four trees (they ignored the fourth one) are very old and have got a lot of dead wood surrounded by rather leggy new shoots growing from the bases so they may be beyond repair. The cherry trees and the birch also need to be pruned too and the garden will be so much better once they have been done. To be fair to the two “gardeners” the hedges and lawns look much much better and should be easier for us to manage now, especially if we replace the ageing and ineffective lawnmower. . . I still think a sheep would be the answer!

Leave a Reply

