Countdown and a cake recipe.

The countdown has begun, 10, 9, 8…yes only eight days until the new kitchen is installed! Yesterday was the first of October, so what did I do…go to a coffee morning of course.

It was in aid of the MacMillan Fund and was at Evie’s house. There was a table full of delicious cakes and biscuits, tea and coffee to drink, shortbread, jam and yarn to buy and time to sit and chat and knit all in a good cause. When my mother was dying the nurses from MacMillan were wonderful, they came to sit with her a couple of nights a week so that I could get some sleep as I was looking after my two-year old son at the same time. They helped me to explain to him what was happening to his lovely Granny and supported my sister and I to cope with our grief while we looked after Mum at home. I have nothing but praise for them.

In the afternoon I painted the sink unit cupboard doors and cleaned the rest of the sink unit woodwork ready to paint it today. This morning I managed to get it all painted with the help/hindrance of two very nosey German Shepherds intrigued by the sight of me sitting on the floor painting the side of the cupboard where the bin (source of much goodness in a dog’s mind) usually lives. The mini-heatwave of the last few days has gone to be replaced with more usual October dreichness but it is at least warm enough to have the doors and windows open while the paint dries.

Today I have a bag of pears to make into jam and cake thanks to my friend and fellow jam maker Paula,  I’m going to make Pear and Lemon Jam using the recipe from the Cottage Smallholder with the addition of some stem ginger to add a warming kick and a Pære og Valnøddekage  (pear and walnut cake) from a recipe given to me by a Danish friend

250g plain flour

2tsp baking powder

180g caster sugar

2 large eggs

100ml milk

125g butter

3 large pears, peeled, cored and chopped and a handfull of chopped walnuts

Optional…the seeds from a vanilla pod.

Melt the butter gently and leave to cool a little. Sieve the flour and baking powder together, stir in the caster sugar and add the chopped pears and walnuts (and vanilla seeds if used). Mix thoroughly to coat the pieces of pear to prevent them browning. Beat the eggs, to make a lighter cake whisk the egg whites to soft peak stage first then beat the yolks and milk together  and stir into the egg whites, add to flour mixture stiring all the time, pour in melted butter and beat enthusiastically. Pour into a 9 inch springform tin and bake for 40-50 mins at 180*C. The instructions then say “sit for a little while before turning upside down on a wire rack” …I know they mean the cake to do the sitting and turning upside down but it still amuses me! Leave to cool. Sprinkle top with more caster sugar or icing sugar before serving.

 

One thought on “Countdown and a cake recipe.

Leave a Reply

