The princess and the pea.

When we moved to this house fifteen and a bit years ago I didn’t have a bed, I slept on the floor and then on an air mattress for a while. Eventually I bought a bed from IKEA and because funds were fairly tight at the time I got the cheapest possible mattress to go with it. The mattress has been ok, no more than that, but over the last 12 months has been getting more and more uncomfortable. As I was buying a new mattress for the single bed for the spare room I decided it was time to replace my mattress too and on Friday morning the two new mattresses were delivered. Yesterday we hauled them up the stairs and put the new mattress on my bed. What a difference, for a start the new mattress is twice as deep as the old one so the bed looks quite different, and it felt so firm and supportive that I could hardly wait for bedtime to arrive. I felt just like the princess in the story but never mind a pea, you could  put a vegetable marrow under that mattress and hardly notice it! I haven’t slept so well in years. The embroidery design is by Follow the White Bunny http://www.etsy.com/listing/86013123/beautiful-and-original-9-page-hand, isn’t it wonderful!

One thought on “The princess and the pea.

  1. A good night’s sleep on a comfy mattress is a complete joy.
    On a different note, I love that embroidery. One day……(you know my schedule at the moment!)

Leave a Reply

