Not an Olympic record but I’m still celebrating.

A few months ago I wrote about a new challenge I was facing as my ParaThyroid Hormone levels were soaring and as a result I was advised to change my diet quite substantially. I saw a dietician who wasn’t desperately helpful and in frustration bought myself a couple of books on renal diet and worked out my own scheme. On Monday I was back at the hospital for the usual collection of blood tests and tonight got some very pleasing results. My PTH levels have fallen from 56.1 to 32.4 pmol/l (normal would be below 22 pmol/l for someone with CKD but with controlled Calcium and Phosphate levels) and my egfr (kidney function) is back up to 10%! I am still in the final stages of kidney failure (below 15% egfr) but any improvement is worth celebrating.

3 thoughts on “Not an Olympic record but I’m still celebrating.

Leave a Reply

