Chocolate Teacakes

Like many Scottish children I was brought up on the delights of Tunnock’s Teacakes, Caramel Wafers, Caramel Logs, Tablet, Edinburgh Rock etc. It’s a wonder I have any teeth left at all! My mother had all her teeth removed and dentures fitted when she was 21 – a fact that both amazed and horrified me even as a child. However, I digress, Tunnock’s were always a favourite treat for Sunday tea time and were particularly favoured because they were a. bought from a shop (or came from a friend of my Mum’s who worked at Tunnock’s and therefore got them at a discount )and b. came in a foil wrapping which could be smoothed out and saved though for what I have no idea! The teacake is an interesting confection, it bears no relation to the teacakes sold in the bakers which are made from sweet bread dough and dried fruits . The Tunnock’s teacake consists of a digestive biscuit topped with a dome of marshmallow like fluff and liberally covered in chocolate. It is very similar to the Danish confection known as a flødebolle or cream ball which I developed a liking for when I lived there. On Tuesday the technical challenge on the Great British Bake Off was to make 6 chocolate teacakes using this recipe. It had never occurred to me to try making them but after watching the programme I sent off for the semi-spherical moulds and bought the ingredients. I substituted milk chocolate for plain but otherwise followed the recipe. I found that the quantities for the chocolate and biscuit base were right but the meringue/marshmallow filling made far too much. I would suggest halving the given quantities and you’d still have plenty. Actually making them was fun, less stressful than in the technical challenge atmosphere but I had the added delights of two large dogs and my son “helping”. My son accidentally knocked the spatula out of the bowl of melted chocolate sending an arc of sticky chocolate across the cooker and floor. The dogs were there to clean that up in double quick time though!

After a couple of hours the teacakes were set and turned out of the silicon mould easily. The chocolate shells were much shinier than they look in the photo. They were then left to set further in the dining room behind the closed door and baby gate to prevent the dogs sneaking in to sample them.

At teatime we cut into them carefully to reveal the biscuit and meringue/marshmallow filling …and enjoyed the taste. I think even Paul Hollywood would have been impressed as there was the definite “crack” of the thin chocolate shell, a soft but set filling and a crisp biscuit. The whole creation is pretty sweet, maybe plain chocolate would make a better contrast with the meringue, and I can’t imagine eating them often but mini-teacakes using a smaller mould would be fun.

 

One thought on “Chocolate Teacakes

  1. They look like a “good bake” as PH would say.
    Oh-my-gosh-I-want-to-eat-them-now as I would say.
    You have so much patience. These look amazing. And even better than the original, which, as you know, is praise indeed.
    Now, if you can just crack homemade Caramel Wafers….

Leave a Reply

