Chelsea collection

image image

Not the best photos, it is a very grey day. The finished Chardon Skirt and Vogue 9881 both made in the Rose and Hubble Chelsea Collection cotton gifted to me by my aunt who was sorting out her fabric stash. The blouse pattern is one I bought in 1987 and must have made quite a few times in the intervening years. The self binding at the neck and arm holes finishes it neatly, I’d intended to use purchased bias binding to match the skirt hem but found enough fabric to make the self binding. The blouse and skirt can be worn together as a dress but I will probably wear them more as separates. Now we just need some sunny weather!

It has been so wet and chilly today that I have begun sewing some wool crepe fabric that I had put away for next autumn. It is going to be a very simple A-line skirt in a colour that was described as lilac but is more the colour of the grey/blue of black grapes. I bought the fabric as a remnant planning to make a different skirt but it was in two pieces and the pattern wouldn’t fit so I have been dithering over what to do with it for a while. Sorting out some old Vogue patterns I came across Vogue 9617 and was just able to cut the skirt out of the available fabric with very little waste. I need to find some lining and a zip to match the fabric now.

Leave a Reply

