27 dresses continued.

The blue dress shown in my last post arrived and was almost immediately returned due to the strange polyester fabric that made my skin crawl when I touched it as it felt so odd. The design and the colour were wonderful, and the dress suited me but I could not have worn it for more than a few minutes without wanting to tear it off, not a good idea at a wedding or indeed any social occasion! Made up in silk crepe it would have been delightful, and if I can find any fabric in that colour I’d happily make a dress from it as Delphinium blue is a splendid shade.

So I ended up looking online for a dress for Saturday’s wedding and found the perfect dress for the occasion. It is a cotton dress, yes cotton, lined and with the added bonus of a tulle underskirt to give it some extra flare. The colours are pink, browns and cream so it went well with my lovely tan strappy Lotta clogs  and a cream handbag. It is very pretty and was just right for a summer wedding in the Lake District. 
image

 

Despite a terrible forecast and heavy rain early on the sun came out in the afternoon and the wedding photos were taken in bright sunshine.

I have one more wedding to go to this summer, and one more dress to show but that will have to wait until after the wedding. Next time I will put up some of the things I’ve been sewing.

Leave a Reply

