Buksedragt

Minikrea 10450 Buksedragt or Playsuit.

A Danish pattern this time, the Playsuit is a relatively quick make, MiniKrea patterns are well designed and include the basic model plus ideas and templates for some alternative styles.

image

 

 

I chose to make the basic version in a lovely soft baby corduroy from Truro Fabrics. The Playsuit has just two buttons to fastenat the bib, if I was making it again I’d alter the crotch seam to open to make  nappy changing easier. The multisized pattern comes drawn out on paper, once you trace off the required size you need to add seam allowances, 1 cm is recommended but I added 1.5 cm simply because I’m used to using that amount and knew I’d probably forget to use the smaller allowance once I got to the sewing machine. What do I like about the MiniKrea patterns, they are simple classic designs with interesting ideas included to make variations. Patterns include a few different sizes in each package. The instructions are clear and include photographs. I can read the instructions in Danish but English translations are available online at MiniKrea’s website (www.minikrea.dk) in pdf. format. What would I change? Just the lack of easy access for nappy changes.

 

image

Underneath the Playsuit is another Broderie Anglais blouse, from a 26 year old Woman’s Weekly pattern, made in the final piece of 26 year old fabric left over from my son’s cot quilt.

2 thoughts on “Buksedragt

    • Thank you, I really enjoyed sewing these. I haven’t saved much from my son’s baby clothes but found the shirt pattern, the original shirt, a piece of fabric and a little jumpsuit and jacket which I made as his “going home from hospital outfit” in a box of other things while tidying out a cupboard. There was also a cardigan knitted for him by his granny which will be passed on to his daughter. More about them next time.

Leave a Reply

